No mastery over words that are distinct and out of the world,

still, I write, to grant a voice to my thoughts gone unheard.

 I don’t give a damn to what people say.

However, I do contemplate what they’ll perceive of my way.

 ‘Double faces’, no, I don’t have.

Yet, there are some emotions about which I don’t rave.

 I am strong enough to rise anew after a fall.

Nonetheless, at someone’s elbow, I yearn to curl and crawl.

 I want to lead a life on my wish and terms.

At every step, I seek support and consent. Am I not firm?

 resembling a book; scrounging a place on a shelf,

we are all at war with self.

                                                                                 ~MK!

   

4 responses to “At war with self”

  1. La Croyante Avatar
    La Croyante

    Glorious!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Misbah Avatar
      Misbah

      Thanks a ton:)

      Like

  2. flowingwords Avatar
    flowingwords

    Great — its truly fantastic how it is been interpreted and stitched with the thread of exquisite thoughts..
    Beautiful writing

    Like

    1. Misbah Avatar
      Misbah

      Thank you so much!!

      Like

Leave a comment